DUI and DWI Defense
An arrest or citation for Driving Under the Influence ("DUI") or Driving While Intoxicated ("DWI") in Pennsylvania is a serious matter with significant consequences for all involved. There are special circumstances and penalties for underage drivers. There are also significant ramifications for those who drive professionally as bus drivers or truck drivers.
In order to protect your rights, it is important that you contact legal counsel immediately if you have been cited or arrested.
Pennsylvania treats these offenses very seriously. There is a zero tolerance policy for drivers under 21. Underage drivers convicted of DUI will have their license will be suspended for 1 year, Go to jail for 2 days to 6 months, and be fined $500 to $5,000.
For drivers over the age of 21, the penalties vary in severity based on the drivers' blood alcohol content and whether or not the incident is a first, second or third offense. Based on these factors, the penalties may range anywhere from fines and mandatory education programming all the way up to imprisonment, which can have devastating effects for your family and your career.
Having experienced legal counsel to navigate you through this process can have significant effects on the outcome.
WHAT TO DO IF YOU ARE ARRESTED
- Do not resist
- Do not attempt to leave the scene
- Cooperate with the police
- Invoke your right to legal counsel
- Remain silent!
- Contact your attorney immediately